The State of Ohio may suspend or revoke your license for traffic violations, criminal convictions, civil matters and failing to pay child support. If you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you could be charged with a crime.
Ohio operates a point system for determining when a persons drivers' licenses may be suspended for traffic offenses. If you accrue 12 points within a 2 year period your drivers license may be suspended.
DUI and OVI offenses are another common reason for license suspension.
If you are convicted of reckless operation or if you failed to pay child support according to the child support order, you license can be revoked.
You may be charged with a first degree misdemeanor for Driving Under Suspension or a revoked driver license. The maximum sentence is 180 days and a fine up to $1,000.00.
If your license was suspended because you failed to provide financial responsibility for your vehicle or for nonpayment of a judgment, you may be charged with an unclassified misdemeanor for the first offense. You may be ordered to complete community service and pay a fine up to $1,000.
If you've been charged with a driving under suspension, we can help.
Contact us today! 440-322-5522
© 2015-2024 Law Office of Jeffery S. Brown. All rights reserved. Disclaimer
The Law Office of Jeffery S. Brown provides legal representation in DUI, OVI, traffic violations, criminal defense, felonies, misdemeanors, divorce, dissolution, child custody, visitation, parental rights, paternity, adoption, child support and probate to clients throughout the state of Ohio, including the cities of Amherst, Avon, Avon Lake, Cleveland, Elyria, Lorain, Medina, North Olmsted, North Ridgeville, Oberlin, Lakewood, Vermillion, Westlake, and the surrounding communities. Counties include: Cuyahoga County, Geauga County, Lake County, Lorain County, Summit County, and Medina County.